Cow Parts Blog

Los Angeles and Things of Randomness

Maximizing your Reading Habits

Leave a comment

For the last few months, I have come to a realization that I do not read enough books. I read a lot of articles online and use Feedly as my main channel to consolidate different websites and blogs but I seemed to have simply stopped reading actual books.

Books are a great source of information and I try to learn at least one new thing a day. When I realized that I do not read as often as I used to, I began looking into different ways other people implement reading back into their daily routines. Many of the most successful people in this world do not stop reading books and I want to imitate their habits.

There are many different reasons to read books. It can be for entertainment, knowledge, mental stimulation or if you are a writer, improving your writing skills. Currently, the main reason I am reading books is to expand my knowledge of different subjects and specializations.

I consider myself a fairly efficient person and I tend to cut out as many steps as I can from different processes. For books, I would go online and find a book I want to read, then get in my car and then drive over to my local library to check out the book. I hated driving to the library. When I recently found out that Kindle’s could check out library books for free, it felt like a godsend. I immediately researched and ordered a 7th Gen Kindle and proceeded my reading adventures.

Kindle

The Kindle is very nice in that it lets me achieve my reading goals without spending too much time going to the library. I can bookmark pages, see how much of the book I have left to read, and many other things. Not to mention that it is ultra portable so I can take it everywhere I want. The only thing about e-readers is that you do not have the feel of flipping through pages anymore. If you wanted to go back, let’s say 20 pages, there is not really an easy way to go back other than tap one page back at a time. Other than that, I would say it was a purchase well worth it.

Do you have a Kindle or any reading goals? Feel free to share your stories!

-Gary

Leave a Reply

